Trinity Home Page
A College in the University of Cambridge Trinity College, Cambridge, CB2 1TQ, UK. Tel.: +44 (0)1223 338400
About Trinity
Fellows In Action
College Calendar
College Clock
College History
Historical Overview
Great Court Run
Trinity Burnt Cream
College Grace
College Shield
Trinity Alumni
Cambridge Before the Great War
The Science Park
College Geography
College News
College Notices
College Paintings
College Publications
Public Lectures Home
Public Rooms
Publication Scheme
Term Dates
Trinity in Camberwell
Trinity in Literature
College Life
Master & Fellows
Staff Pages
Chapel and Choir
Visitors to Trinity
HomeAbout TrinityCollege HistoryTrinity Alumni > Medallists and Prize-Winners
Medallists and Prize-Winners
Members of Trinity have won the following Medals and Prizes. (There is a separate page of Nobel Laureates.)

Fields Medal

Awarded every four year to two, three, or four mathematicians under the age of 40 at the congress of the International Mathematical Union. C$15,000.

1966 Michael Atiyah
1970 Alan Baker
1998 Richard Borcherds
1998 Timothy Gowers

Wolf Prize

Awarded in Agriculture, Chemistry, Mathematics, Medicine, Physics, and the Arts by the Wolf Foundation. US$100,000.

1981 Physics. Freeman Dyson
1992 Chemistry. John Pople
1994 Medicine. Michael Berridge
2010 Agriculture. David Baulcombe

Balzan Prize

Four prizes annually in the categories of humanities, social sciences and the arts, and physics, mathematics, natural sciences and medicine. CHF 1M.

1989 Martin Rees
1991 John Maynard Smith
1999 John Elliott

Guthrie Medal

Awarded annually by the Institute of Physics. 1,000.

1989 Martin Rees
2007 Gil Lonzarich

Abel Prize

Mathematics. Awarded annually by the Norwegian Academy of Sciences and Letters. kr 6M.

2004 Michael Atiyah

Crafoord Prize

Awarded annually by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences in rotation to Astronomy and Mathematics, Geosciences, Biosciences. US$500,000.

2005 Martin Rees

Copley Medal

The oldest of the Royal Society's awards, given annually. Trinity awardees listed here from 1944.

1944 G. I. Taylor
1946 Edgar Adrian
1948 Archibald Hill
1958 John Littlewood
1965 Alan Hodgkin
1973 Andrew Huxley
1984 Subrahmanyan Chandrasekhar
1985 Aaron Klug
1988 Michael Atiyah
1998 James Lighthill
1999 John Maynard Smith
2002 John Pople

Notification of any errors or omissions, and suggestions for further additions, are welcome, and should be sent to the Secretary of the Website Committee.
2014 Trinity College, Cambridge. Registered Charity No. 1137604 Website Policies. print versionText only/Printable site