Robson History Prize

The Robson History Prize is an annual competition for Year 12 or Lower 6th students. The Prize was established in 2007 in memory of the historian Robert Robson, who was for many years a Fellow and Tutor at Trinity. The aims of the Robson Prize are twofold: firstly, to encourage ambitious and talented Year 12 or Lower Sixth students considering applying to university to read History or a related discipline; and secondly, to recognize the achievements both of high-calibre students and of those who teach them. 


Candidates are invited each year to submit an essay of between 2,000 and 4,000 words on a topic to be chosen from the list of questions.  The 2015 competition has closed.  The list of questions for the 2016 competition will be published here in February 2016. 

Submissions must be made in hard copy (we regret that we cannot accept email submissions) and should be received by the deadline of 1 August each year. Those intending to apply should also complete an application form which is to be included with the submission. Results will be announced by the end of October. 

Please send printed essays to the following address on or before 1 August: 

The Robson History Prize 2016 
c/o Ms Stacey Smith
Admissions Office 
Trinity College 
CB2 1TQ 

The competition carries a First Prize of £600, to be split equally between the candidate and his or her school or college (the school or college’s portion of the prize to be issued in the form of book tokens with which to buy history books), and a Second Prize of £400, which again is to be shared equally between the candidate and his or her school or college. In addition, three further essays of a high quality will be commended. All successful competitors will be invited to visit the College. 

Any queries should be directed to Dr Richard Serjeantson by post, telephone to 01223 338589 or by e-mail

Past Robson Prize-winners 

1st Prize: Miss Poppy Freeman-Cuerden (Finham Park School)
2nd Prize: Miss Eleanor Smith-Hahn (Westminster School) 

1st Prize: Mr M Rees (St John the Baptist High School, Aberdare) 
2nd Prize: Miss H Gass (The Queen's School, Chester) 

1st Prize: Mr S Galimberti (International School, Milan) 
2nd Prize: Mr S Lock (King's College School, Wimbledon) 

1st Prize: Mr C. Easton (Newcastle College) 
2nd Prize: Mr D. MacDonald (Sgoil Lionacleic, Isle of Eriskay) 

1st Prize: Mr P. Hoffman (Stonyhurst College) 
2nd Prize: Mr C. Humphreys (Bolitho Sixth Form College) 

Four others were commended: Mr T. Gibbs, Miss N. Rainey, Mr R. Smith and Mr C. Wilson. 
There were 134 applicants. 

1st Prize: Mr Aaron Taylor (Haberdashers’ Aske’s Boys School) 
2nd Prize: Ms Louisa Caines (Cheltenham College) 

1st Prize: Mr Josh Mills (Nottingham High School) 
2nd Prize: Mr Christopher Bond (Cheltenham College) 

1st Prize: Mr Ben Slingo (Bedford School) 
2nd Prize: Ms Nisadha Bandara (Haberdashers’ Aske's School for Girls)