Skip to content


In the 2024 New Year Honours two Honorary Fellows of Trinity received awards.

Judith Weir, Master of the King’s Music, was made Dame Commander of the Order of the British Empire for services to music, and the Most Reverend Justin Welby, the Archbishop of Canterbury, received the Knight Grand Cross of the Royal Victorian Order in recognition of his prominent role in the Coronation.

Meanwhile during 2023, Trinity Fellows and academics affiliated to the College were awarded prizes, secured research funding or were appointed to Fellowships at prestigious institutions.

Dr Matthew Agarwala, economist at the Bennett Institute for Public Policy and Senior Postdoctoral Researcher, was awarded an Honorary Professor post to support Scotland’s Rural College’s work on delivering a sustainable and prosperous economy.

Catherine Barnard, Professor of EU Law and Employment Law at Cambridge, has been appointed the Ganshof van der Meersch Chair 2023-2024 by the Fondation Wiener-Anspach. She will give her first lecture as Chair on 7 February 2024 at the Université libre de Bruxelles.

Gishan Dissanaike, Adam Smith Professor of Corporate Governance at Cambridge and Fellow of Hughes Hall, became Interim Dean of Cambridge Judge Business School on 1 July. Professor Dissanaike is an external Director of Studies at Trinity.

Dr Tao DuFour, Assistant Professor in History and Theory of Architecture at Cambridge and Director of Studies in Architecture at Trinity, received the Society of Architectural Historians Award for Film and Video 2023 and the Edwin Goodwin Ballard Book Prize in Phenomenology 2023.

Dr Lloyd Meadhbh Houston, Postdoctoral Researcher at Trinity, has been elected a Fellow of the Royal Historical Society.

Michael Hurley, Professor of Literature and Theology at Cambridge and Fellow in English at Trinity, will take up a Visiting Professorship at the University of Paris-Sorbonne in spring 2024.

Jason Miller, Professor in the Statistics Laboratory at Cambridge, has received a European Research Council grant that will enable him to create a research group to tackle longstanding questions in his research area. He was also awarded the Fermat Prize by the Institute of Mathematics in Toulouse in November 2023.

Dr Jeremy Schneider, Junior Research Fellow at Trinity, received the Ronald Rainger Early Career Award in History of the Earth and Environmental Sciences for his forthcoming article in Renaissance Quarterly, ‘Hunted to Extinction: Finding Lost Species in the World of Bernard Palissy (1510-89)’.

Professor David Secher, a Fellow of Gonville and Caius, and previously Junior Bursar at Trinity, received a Lifetime Achievement in Knowledge Exchange Award from PraxisAuril.

Ulrike Tillmann, NM Rothschild & Sons Professor of Mathematical Sciences at Cambridge, was appointed Vice-President of the International Mathematical Union in January 2023, following her presidency of the London Mathematical Society, 2021-23.

Professor Larysa Zasiekina, Visiting Scholar at Trinity, is Principal Investigator on a new project, ‘Exposure to Continuous Traumatic Stress and Its Consequences Among Adolescents in a High-Risk Social Environment in South Africa,’ supported by the Cambridge-Africa ALBORADA Research Fund.

Banner photo credits: Judith Weir/Sim Canetty-Clarke; Justin Welby/World Council of Churches; Ghishan Dissanaike/David Amann; Lloyd Houston/Andrea Lasorte; Ulrike Tillmann/Ander McIntyre.

This article was published on :

More on…

Back To Top
College Crest

Contact us

        Intranet | Student Hub

Access and Outreach Hub