skip to Main Content

The Robson History Prize is an annual competition for Year 12 or Lower 6th students. The Prize was established in 2007 in memory of the historian Robert Robson, who was for many years a Fellow and Tutor at Trinity. The aims of the Robson Prize are twofold: firstly, to encourage ambitious and talented Year 12 or Lower Sixth students considering applying to university to read History or a related discipline; and secondly, to recognize the achievements both of high-calibre students and of those who teach them.

Questions for the 2023 competition can be found here

Essays should provide references to sources of information, and include a bibliography at the end of the essay. Essays may be up to 3,000 words, including all footnotes and references but excluding the bibliography.

Submissions must be made by 12 noon (UK time) on 1 August 2023.  Please submit essays using the form below.  Results of the competition will be announced as soon as they have been finalised.

The competition carries a First Prize of £600, to be split equally between the candidate and their school or college (the school or college’s portion of the prize to be issued in the form of book tokens with which to buy history books), and a Second Prize of £400, which again is to be shared equally between the candidate and their school or college. In addition, further outstanding essays will be highly commended.

Queries from students or teachers of students intending to submit an essay may be directed by e-mail to [email protected].

About you

DD slash MM slash YYYY

About your school

School Address(Required)

Your Entry

Accepted file types: doc, docx, pdf, Max. file size: 2 MB.
1. I hereby agree that for educational/non-commercial purposes the College may use the Recordings (transcribed or otherwise) and may use the essay I submit (‘Essay’) (with due acknowledgement of my authorship) throughout the world for the full period of copyright, including all renewals, reversions, extensions and revivals of such period, in the following ways: a) storing, publishing or transmitting the Recordings and/or the Essay in College internal archives and databases; and b) exhibiting, publishing or transmitting the Recordings and/or the Essay in print, on DVD or other digital media and on the Internet at College websites and College-affiliated websites; and c) distributing the Recordings and/or the Essay to the press, media organisations and other interested parties for publication, transmission or broadcast.] 2. The information provided in this form is used for the administration of the Robson History Prize and is managed and stored in accordance with UK Data Protection regulations 3. This agreement shall be governed in all respects by English law.
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Past Robson Prize-winners


1st Prize: Niall Fitzgibbon (Ermysted’s Grammar School)
Joint 2nd Prize: Maya Heuer-Evans (Colyton Grammar School)
Joint 2nd Prize: Angelina Morosan (Saint Sava National College, Romania)


1st Prize: Mr Vicente Vildoso (Markham College, Peru)
2nd Prize: Jack Jacobs (Radley College)


1st Prize: Miss Phoenix Woolnough (The Mount School, York)
2nd Prize: Mr Samuel Vosper (Sandringham School, St Alban’s)


1st Prize: Miss Geena Dhillon (The Heathland School)
2nd Prize: Miss Phoebe Hall (Ripon Grammar School)


1st Prize: Miss Jennifer Smith (Aldridge School)
2nd Prize: Mr Dylan Clarke (Lutterworth College)


1st Prize: Mr Alex Vinen (Westminster School)
2nd Prize: Miss Anna Brady (Sheringham Sixth Form)


1st Prize: Miss Alexa Stanger (St Paul’s Girls’ School)
2nd Prize: Mr Luke Hallam (Durham Johnston Comprehensive School)


1st Prize: Mr Patrick Hudson (The King’s School, Chester)
2nd Prize: Miss Kathleen Mitchell-Fox (The Marlborough Science Academy, St Albans)


1st Prize: Miss Poppy Freeman-Cuerden (Finham Park School)
2nd Prize: Miss Eleanor Smith-Hahn (Westminster School)


1st Prize: Mr M Rees (St John the Baptist High School, Aberdare)
2nd Prize: Miss H Gass (The Queen’s School, Chester)


1st Prize: Mr S Galimberti (International School, Milan)
2nd Prize: Mr S Lock (King’s College School, Wimbledon)


1st Prize: Mr C. Easton (Newcastle College)
2nd Prize: Mr D. MacDonald (Sgoil Lionacleic, Isle of Eriskay)


1st Prize: Mr P. Hoffman (Stonyhurst College)
2nd Prize: Mr C. Humphreys (Bolitho Sixth Form College)

Four others were commended: Mr T. Gibbs, Miss N. Rainey, Mr R. Smith and Mr C. Wilson.
There were 134 applicants.


1st Prize: Mr Aaron Taylor (Haberdashers’ Aske’s Boys School)
2nd Prize: Ms Louisa Caines (Cheltenham College)


1st Prize: Mr Josh Mills (Nottingham High School)
2nd Prize: Mr Christopher Bond (Cheltenham College)


1st Prize: Mr Ben Slingo (Bedford School)
2nd Prize: Ms Nisadha Bandara (Haberdashers’ Aske’s School for Girls)

Back To Top
College Crest

Contact us

        MyTrin | Student Hub

Access and Outreach Hub