Skip to content

Trinity College was pleased to launch the Robert Walker Prize for Essays in Law in 2013. The prize is named after the Rt Hon. The Lord Walker of Gestingthorpe GBS PC (1938–2023), a judicial member of the House of Lords from 2002 and Justice of the Supreme Court of the United Kingdom from its creation in 2009 until his retirement in 2013. Lord Walker read law at Trinity, and became an Honorary Fellow of the College in 2006. He was a generous and dedicated supporter of Law at Trinity, meeting current and prospective students at College events, judging moots (legal debates) and helping to connect the practice of law with its academic study.

The Robert Walker Prize has three objectives:

  • to encourage students with an interest in Law to explore that interest by researching, considering and developing an argument about a legal topic of importance to modern society;
  • to encourage those interested in Law to apply for a university course in Law; and
  • to recognise the achievements of high-calibre students, from whatever background they may come.

The 2024 competition has closed.

The rules for the competition are as set out below:

  • Essays can be of any length up to 2,000 words (including any footnotes).
  • Entries must be submitted online by 12 noon UK time on Monday 8 April 2024 using the form below.
    • If there are special reasons why a potential candidate cannot submit an essay online, a request exceptionally to submit in hard copy may be made. Requests will be considered by the Law Fellows. Please contact the Admissions Office at Trinity College Cambridge, CB2 1TQ; tel: +44(0)1223 338422; fax: +44 (0)1223 338584; email:
  • The competition is open to students in their final or penultimate year of secondary school, except students who have entered the competition in the past. No individual student may submit more than one entry into the competition.
  • Candidates may discuss the subject matter of the essay with other students and teachers at their school; however, the formulation of the argument and the writing of the essay must be the work of the student alone.
  • Essays will be assessed by reference to a range of factors, including the development of argument, the quality of expression and the appropriate use of supporting facts and material.
  • Entries will be considered in two divisions: a United Kingdom Division and an International Division.
  • It is anticipated that first prizes of £300 and second prizes of £200 may be awarded in each Division; the prizes may be shared.
  • It is anticipated that the authors of the ten top-placed essays in each Division will be invited to a Prize Ceremony at Trinity to see the College and to meet the Law Fellows.
  • The decisions of the judges are final; no correspondence will be entered into. Essays will not be returned, so candidates should keep a copy for their own reference.

Sorry. This form is no longer available.


2024 (244 entries):

First Prize (United Kingdom Division): Duncan MacColl, Birkdale School
First Prize (International Division): Sijia Cai, Raffles Institution

Second Prize (United Kingdom Division): Milo Sinclair, Haberdashers’ Boys’ School
Second Prize (International Division): Vinayak Kedia, Seth Anandram Jaipuria School, Vasundhara, Ghaziabad

2023 (153 entries):

First Prize (United Kingdom Division): Chloe Green, Royal Grammar School Newcastle
First Prize (International Division): Minh Phuong Dang Tran, Raffles Institution (Singapore)

Second Prize (United Kingdom Division): Jessica Williamson, Tiffin Girls’ School
Second Prize (International Division): Ziqi Li, Shenzhen High School (China)

2022 (172 entries):

First Prize (United Kingdom Division): Jiwon Heo, St Paul’s Girls’ School
First Prize (International Division): Kaitlyn B Wong, Chinese International School (Hong Kong)

Second Prize (United Kingdom Division): Toby Bowles, Rushcliffe Spencer Academy
Second Prize (International Division): Nikki Han, Queenwood School for Girls (Australia)

2021 (278 entries):

First Prize (United Kingdom Division): Ben Mays (Colyton Grammar School)
First Prize (International Division): Yu Du (Raffles Institution, Singapore)

Second Prize (United Kingdom Division): Afzal Hussain (Eton College)
Second Prize (International Division): Judy Yi Ting Ma (Presbyterian Ladies’ College, Australia)

2020 (175 entries):

First Prize (United Kingdom Division): George Hargreaves (Royal Grammar School, Guildford)
First Prize (International Division): Antonia Vig (Colegiul Național Alexandru Papiu Ilarian, Romania)
Second Prize (United Kingdom Division): Charlotte Fowler (Highgate School)
Second Prize (International Division): Annabelle Chua (Hwa Chong Institution, Singapore)

2019 (107 entries):

First Prize (United Kingdom Division): Christopher Long (Woodbridge School)
First Prize (International Division): Jonathan Teng (Raffles Institution)
Second Prize (United Kingdom Division): Eleanor Hargrove (King’s College School, Wimbledon)
Second Prize (International Division): Wong Zi Yang (Raffles Institution)

2018 (154 entries):

First Prize (United Kingdom Division): David Edwards-Ker (Westminster School)
First Prize (International Division): Gergely Berces (Milestone Institute, Hungary)
Second Prize (United Kingdom Division): Dorothy Biyere (Sutton Grammar School)
Second Prize (International Division): Xinyi Gao (Hwa Chong Institution, Singapore)

2017 (135 entries):

First Prize (United Kingdom Division): Eve Loveman (Peter Symonds’ College)
First Prize (International Division): Lauren Park (Pymble Ladies’ College, Australia)
Second Prize (United Kingdom Division): Mary Hassan (St. Michael’s Catholic Grammar School)
Second Prize (International Division): Ruilin Fang (Dunman High School, Singapore)

2016 (112 entries):

First Prize (United Kingdom Division): Ellis Napier (Lawnswood School)
First Prize (International Division): Allegra McCormack (Kambala, Australia)
Second Prize (United Kingdom Division): Johnny McCausland (Wellington College)
Second Prize (International Division): Gabriel Tan Jin Hsi (Hwa Chong Institution, Singapore)


First Prize (shared): Charlotte Witney (Saffron Walden County High School)
First Prize (shared): Ricky Ham (Pymble Ladies’ College, Australia)
Second Prize (shared): Priya Radia (North London Collegiate School)
Second Prize (shared): Katharine Cook (Wellington College)


First Prize: Noelle Huang (Hwa Chong Institution, Singapore)
Second Prize: John Cheung (Abingdon School)


First Prize: Emily Harbach (Haberdashers’ Aske’s School for Girls)
Second Prize: Alistair Ho (Merchant Taylors’ School)

Back To Top
College Crest

Contact us

        MyTrin | Student Hub

Access and Outreach Hub